1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trying to be brave

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by Katchoo, Mar 22, 2016.

1. Katchoo

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey, new friends.

I'm a 31 year old female. I've been shoving myself back in the closet for about 15 years because I was really religious and worked for concervative Christian agencies. I did all the support groups an had people pray for me a lot, trying to stay in my closet in order to try to follow what the Bible seemed to say. Over the last months or maybe several years, my faith is falling apart. Which means that I can finally wonder, what if I could actually like who I am? What if I could actually be proud of who I am? What if maybe I don't have to be single forever? What if I could feel good about being a whole, sexual person? What if I could have the same grace for myself that I have for other people?

I need to do a lot of processing right now regarding my sort of "ex-gay" experience though I never liked calling it that. Also, needing to process figuring out if there is any spirituality I can save rather than just completely scrapping and throwing out that whole area of life (which is what I am kind of doing now, but it seems a bit excessive). Could someone point me in the right direction for forums and threads where those could be topics?

Thanks!
    Katchoo

2. penelope