1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yes I am

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by Newbie1961, Aug 13, 2016.

1. Newbie1961

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi folks! Another new gal here. I'm hoping I can find support within this community. I am turning 55 this year and it's looking like things are going to be great.

My background- was married to a man for 20 years. Divorced now for 16. I always knew what I was, but played the small town role and got married. I have one daughter in her thirties and two granddaughters.

Ive never acted on my desires, but I have always been attracted to women. It was always a dream to be the real me, but I stuffed it and ignored it until recently. That was obviously not healthy. I literally stuffed myself with food during a very long depression. I am talking 30 years of severe depression. I hold a masters degree, but was forced to quite teaching because I could no longer function. After 15 years of working my butt off in therapy things are changing fast and furious.

I have never dated since Prior to my marriage. I have had very few close friends in my life due to the fact I could never state any truths without the worry of this topic becoming a problem. I have had one friend for the past 13 years and have kept my mouth shut because I didn't want to scare her off. She is 9 years older and has been married, divorced, and single forever. I've been attracted to her for a long time but never mentioned it, over the last year we have become very close. Last week we finally started talking very intimately and she admitted she had the same feelings for me. I never planned for this and assumed I would finish my life out alone being Grandma.