1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi!

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by filmmakingally, Sep 11, 2016.

1. filmmakingally

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    I'm a tiny-budget filmmaker. My next feature film is about a young man who struggles with coming out of the closet, and decides to use music as sort-of a form of therapy, and eventually comes out with music.

As a cis-gendered straight-white male, I worry that I might write the role wrong. I've never written a gay character before. And so that is why I'm here -- research! Basically, I just want to do the best I can to learn what it's like to be a closeted homosexual man. I'll definitely ask some questions from time to time, but I'm also probably going to do a lot of lurking.

Cheers!

#1 filmmakingally, Sep 11, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2016
  2. Snoww

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Welcome to EC~

Wow! Your movie sounds quite interesting! I hope you'll find all the information you need here! I would love to watch it!

Good luck and I hope it turns out well ^^

3. AliceDot79

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Well I love the concept of the film and I hope you do well! As a bisexual girl, theres not much I can help you with. Just one thing to mention, while there's nothing wrong with it often the default setting for a lgbt character is a gay man, and the film might stand out more if he was asexual or pan (especially to those who watch a lot of lgbt themed movie)

Good luck and I hope you are able to get some research done from this site :slight_smile:

4. Quantumreality

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi, filmmakingally! Welcome to EC!:slight_smile:

5. killswitch0029