1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hey people!

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by IsItElise, Nov 25, 2016.

1. IsItElise

Hi everyone! My name is Elise. I'm 24 years old, live in Minnesota, and I happen to be a transgender woman. I totally realize the irony of using this site right now, since I'm basically in the closet to everyone except one friend and and a support group that I go to weekly. But I'm working on my coming out/transition process and hope to get there soon!

I'm not sure of what else to say, but let me try this...

What I hope to get out of EC: some knowledge and "expertise" about the nuts and bolts of being a trans woman, or just being a woman in general, or being trans in general.

What what I hope to contribute to EC: I'm not very experienced yet, but I hope that I can be a positive voice for support for anyone dealing with the joys and challenges of being LGBT, especially those, like me, who are earlier in the process of exploring/realizing their true gender.

Why I'm excited about being a trans woman:
    1) being able to actually act like myself in my relations with others
    2) a chance to reinvent myself!
    3) and let's be honest, having a woman's body will be pretty awesome :slight_smile:

What will challenge me about being being a trans woman:
    1) Style: as much as I've always envied women for their appearance, I know NOTHING (Jon Snow) about how to dress femininely or do makeup. Twenty years in denial will do that to ya.
    2) Professional: between discrimination and my own insecurity, I hope that coming out will not keep me from finding a job that I love.
    3) Voice: I mean, I'm a baritone, and I'm not sure yet which route I want to take to present as female vocally.