1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gently me, gently you

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by hOpen, Jun 25, 2011.

1. hOpen

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Hi, I'm new and I'm completely straight and yet I'm oddly in the closet in a different way. I'll say more about it later in the advice forum, but the basic gist is I'm new to having gay friends, one in particular is becoming more of a close friend. I've known her for several months, and finally had her and her partner over for coffee and cake with me and my wife and some other mutual friends. They stayed late after everyone else left like I sorta figured they might, hoped they would. She sent a pretty late text afterward that night to say how much they enjoyed it.

The trouble is I'm in a strange and somewhat confusing spot in terms of our friendship. She knows I go to church, and probably has figured out that it's definitely a Christian church (she's a pretty smart gal), and she may or may not suspect that I hold some conservative theological views that mean, well, I don't know exactly what for our relationship. I'm very careful not to throw it in her face, and I certainly don't intentionally hide it either, but I'm not exactly the Ned Flanders type who can't fit into a normal population, and so I don't know what she's gathered about what I believe.

I know it's not an easy belief. It certainly hasn't been so for me, but it is what I believe (I've explored other options, and so far no changes).

So, I'm here to explore what's the best way to continue to be myself with a friend, when things about me may actually be directly offensive to her. I don't know. I'm hopeful. Understand, I don't see her as my personal conversion project, I'm not spying out tips on how to turn her (I'm not terribly dumb either), I just want to know the best way to be me around her and how to love my friend and not be hurtful to her.