1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hiya and g'day

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by chrisjones, Nov 13, 2012.

1. chrisjones

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    by way of introduction... I am publicly out...

i joined this forum after coming across it a few times when i was researching coming out stories.

i am a gay poet and writer, 56 years old, living on a 33ft sailing boat on the NSW central coast, Australia.

I thought that by joining not only will I get email alerts but having read the stories I should make myself available to give something back. I also like the security of this site, btw.

I came out in my mid to late teens and became a gay rights activist in Sydney and was involved in the first mardi gras in 1978 and designed the poster after dropping out of art school. I remember getting arrested at one of the demos, this was terrifying, but all the charges ended up being dropped and we won. I then worked as an openly gay laborer in the Port Kembla Steelworks and was made union delegate after my gay right activism became known.

anyway, have been thinking of writing a small book with a fictional account of this period and written in such a way that young gays can also read the story... and the gay rights movement continues to make history, like GSA's in high schools and more

I am also living with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and fibromalagia

and I can't find the spell check, yet, sorry, writing this on a toshiba netbook and slow internet is a little more difficult, I find... not to worry, i'll get around to this soon

Quote:
    Graduate in Communication, University of Technology, Sydney, studied writing,media arts, philosophy and cultural studies. I could be described as a novelist, poet, media artist and art photographer.

2. AlexisAnne

Welcome to EC :slight_smile: Seems like you've lived quite the life so far.

3. BradThePug

Gender Pronoun:
    He