1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I guess it's my turn, then.

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by JohnG, Jan 12, 2013.

1. JohnG

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi everyone, my name's John and I live in France, more precisely in a little town of East. (I'm still learning english but I'll do my best to avoid typos and mistakes! \o/)

I'm 17 and I found out I was gay since... primary school if I remember correctly, which may seem a bit early... I think. I learnt really quick to hide my true feelings and put a mask to protect myself and avoid conflicts. It then became some kind of reflex, to just smile and pretend everything was fine.
    But last year, with some unavoidable events, it became worse and worse, until I just couldn't hide my pain anymore. One of my best friends saw it and just kept questionning me for a couple of months until I finally spoke. She looked at me and said "So...?". I was shocked, and she was just standing there, waiting. When I finally managed to speak, she just said "I knew it, you can't hide a thing from me. Didn't you get it ages ago?" and then started laughing. I smiled, still shaking, and just couldn't find the words to thank her as much as I wanted. The next day, I also had to came out to a second friend (who's a guy, this time :lol: ) and he just kept helping and reassuring me.

But this only worked at school. Even now, at home with my mother around, I just feel oppressed, more and more depressed and sometimes I just want to jump out of the window and get rid of everything. I was born in a muslim family, and even though they don't pray, etc..., the religious beliefs are still here, they just make my life a living hell without even knowing it.