1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by mnguy, Nov 12, 2006.

1. mnguy

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey,
    I've alredy posted two times so thought I should introduce myself. I'm not good at keeping up with these forums so my presence here my be spotty at best, but who knows. I've been here a few times prior to today and from what I've read, a lot of the members are considerably younger than I am at 31. I wish there had been such a resource like this when I was in high school, but alas, the internet didn't exist as it does now. Imagine that! This site may not have been much help to me, however, since I didn't fully realize that I was gay until after college. Things would have made sense a lot sooner if someone had only told me what being gay really meant. I was (am?) naive, what can I say? Oh well...

So anyway, I live and work in the Twin Cities area of MN. I'm a MN Gopher fan and I graduated from the U of M. I'm not really out to anyone although I don't pretend to be straight; I guess people just assume what they want or they don't want to know. I think it's really great that people are feeling more confident coming out at a younger age. I think sites like this can be a great resource for information and encouragement. I find it very frustrating, but I've never known anyone who has been open about being gay, although I'm sure by now I must have known someone and just didn't realize it. I think as more good people are willing to come out, it can only help make it easier for others to follow and will show the world that we are just regular everyday people like most straight people are.