1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I hope it gets better.

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by Dins3label, Mar 7, 2013.

1. Dins3label

Hello everybody! I'm new here.. and I'm new to the idea that I am gay. I'm 18 and a freshman in college. I've been attracted to men but I think I've been too scared to admit it until this point. I've been in a relationship with my girlfriend for almost three years and it has been wonderful, but I know that there is something wrong. It really is a terrible feeling because I feel like I've built up this idea of me so well through high school and I'm just starting to realize that I've trapped myself into something I don't want to be.

I've always put a lot of emphasis into what people think about me, and I'm scared to think that I'll be judged for who I am. More importantly, I don't want to hurt my girlfriend. My feelings have been so confusing recently. I can't tell what's love, whats denial, or what is just a friendship. These confusing feelings have persisted throughout the relationship and I thought that I would be able to get rid of them by now.

If anyone has gone through something similar that would be great. At this point, I'm just really scared, considering I kind of admitted to myself something that I have been fighting back for a very long time.

All the best.
    -D

2. Minx

Welcome to EC. :slight_smile:

3. campervankid

Hi, welcome to EC. Sorry, cant say I have ever been through anything similar but just thought I'd show my support. I think you should focus less on what other people think though because if they are important to you and you are important to them then they will probably just accept you and love you as you. As far as the girlfriend thing I dont know but if you aren't happy then isnt it better to tell soomeone sooner about it instead of letting it build up? Have you tried talking to her about how you feel? :slight_smile: