1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello everyone!

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by Closetedteen, Jun 5, 2013.

1. Closetedteen

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Hi everybody. Sorry for the length of this, this is my first time putting everything out there and I don't expect any of you to actually read all of this but I really need to get it off my chest and share my feelings with others so that I don't feel so alone. So anyone who reads or responds to this, please know that I appreciate it very much. Well, here it goes:

I want to start off by saying that I'm new to this forum and that I'm also new to accepting myself. I've been denying my sexuality for a long time and been telling myself, out of fear, that I'm straight. Only recently have I admitted to myself that I am attracted to men as well as women. I'm not completely comfortable with myself yet and it's still hard for me to know and accept that I am this way. I was born into a fairly religious family and until a few years ago we went to church almost every weekend. My parents have been sending me to religious ed classes since I was very little and I now attend a Catholic high school, so I've pretty much always had bible stuff shoved in my face. This, along with my religious parents is most of why I've denied my sexuality up until recently. I remember around the time when I was in seventh or eighth grade, when I first started to hear about people who were fighting for gay marriage and I had some questions about it, my father, in a staunchly anti-gay miniature speech, told me, "God made Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve." I don't know where he heard this but I lived the next few years believing that gay people weren't what God intended. I know now that this is not true and that part of the reason I agreed with him was because I was afraid that I wasn't straight like everybody else.