1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Insert creative introduction title here!

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by Milhouse, Jun 12, 2013.

1. Milhouse

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hello guys,

I've been browsing this site every now and then for several months now. I decided I might as well take a plunge and set up an account and what not. It seems like a decent community to be a part of.

As for me, I'm a 25 year old who has been slowly and painfully coming to the realization that he is nowhere near as straight as he grew up thinking he was. I come from a relatively conservative Christian family where my parents bought into a lot of the nonsense going on out there about homosexuality in the world. They spread that to us kids, so I grew up not really thinking it was even an option or a possibility and that homosexuality was a choice some people made that was "unnatural" and "dirty."

I recall being attracted to other boys as a child and having a very close friendship to a kid who was considerably more popular than me. I was incredibly close to him and figured we'd be great friends for the rest of our lives until he started running away from me. I never really understood it, to be honest.

I had some very lonely and depressing teenage and early adult years. I went through a bit of a psychological breakdown after my friend left that I never really recovered from. I basically disconnected from reality a bit, like I was no longer in touch with my own feelings or body, and everything and everyone has looked different and seemed unreal ever since then. I later learned that it is a condition known as Depersonalization Disorder.