1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie here: Bi Mom of transgender M to F child

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by HippieWitchMama, Jun 22, 2013.

1. HippieWitchMama

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hello everyone! I have been searching for a safe, supportive forum for dealing with my emotions in regards to my 18 year old child who identifies and lives now as female. I love, support accept my daughter fully. Unfortunately that does not mean that I understand everything nor have I dealt with my inner emotions. I am sometimes confused and often worried about her safety and the emotional health of her two younger sisters aged 5 and 7. Are there any other family members of transgender individuals here?

P.S. I identify as bisexual myself.

2. LD579

Hello, and welcome. You may wish to repost this query to another section of the site ("Family, Friends, and Relationships", or "Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Support"), so you'd be more apt to receive appropriate and helpful responses.

For what it's worth, I think the emotional health of your two younger daughters isn't at harm at all. It's nice to hear that you're supportive and willing to learn so that you can best support your 18-year-old daughter =)

3. HippieWitchMama

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Luthan, Thanks for the tip! I am using my smartphone so I am trying to figure out how to repost this to the other area you suggested.

4. StefaniW

StefaniW Guest

Hi :slight_smile:

First let me tell you you are awesome to be sooo supportive <3

Second, you sound a lot like my own mom. She has worries abbout my safety and feels like my own little siblings wil have a hard time adjusting.