1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trying to figure stuff out

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by JennyKeys, Apr 7, 2014.

1. JennyKeys

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hi, I'm Jenny (or at least, that's the name I'm considering using). I just made an account here this evening, and I posted this in the welcome thread earlier, but figured it'd make more sense to post here.

I'm a college student, about to graduate, and until around this year I figured I was just your typical straight guy. But I've been doing a lot of self reflection and I think I may be transgendered. Like, when I was younger, around middle school and high school, I used to dress and act very androgynously (is that even a word...?) and I always loved feeling feminine, or when someone mistook me for a girl. I used to wear makeup and feminine clothes/accessories too, but I pretty much stopped at the end of high school. Back then, I didn't know anything about the LGBT community (you can blame Alabama for that), and I always figured I was just a weird kid, but now that I've been around more LGBT people and have become more educated about the community as a whole, I've realized that I may be trans. It's not like the feelings stopped after high school either, I just stopped outwardly trying to be effeminate, but I still often daydream about being a woman and imagine myself with breasts and makeup and clean-shaven skin and all that. My holdup about really mentioning it to anyone is that I'm not sure if I really am trans. I mean, sometimes I feel like it's just a silly phase or fantasy that I'll get over, but I really don't know. It's not like I'm one of those trans girls who immediately know when they're like 6 years old. But I suppose a lot of LGBT folks had a lot of doubts when they were first questioning themselves, so I'm hoping to figure out stuff over this next year or so.