1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

When Psychiatrists Try Talk Therapy...

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Rakkaus, Feb 1, 2014.

1. Rakkaus

Rakkaus Guest

Alright, not sure where to put this exactly, but it kinda involves sexual health.

Anyway, a few months ago I was in need of a psychiatrist, and I wanted to be sure I was going to get an LGBTQ-friendly psychiatrist who I would feel comfortable being open with.

I asked the mental health coordinator at my LGBT center for a referral to an LGBTQ-friendly psychiatrist. (I've had lots of negative experiences with her, see my http://emptyclosets.com/forum/general-support-advice/123270-borderline-rape.html#post1861814 thread for some mention of them). Probably a mistake.

I was shocked when she referred me back to a psychiatrist I had seen years before whom I had found really lousy and totally lacking in bedside manner. (I was deeply closeted then so sexuality never came up, but he always had a tendency to blurt out offensive comments like "You have no friends" every time I met with him.)

It turns out she referred me to him because she works in the office right next door to him and is apparently friends with him. I see her walk in and out when I'm in the waiting room for four hours for each psychiatrist appointment, getting into the room at like 8pm for a 4pm appointment. (And sitting in that office all those hours really gets my anxiety up.)

Anyway, I've been seeing him the past few months, I'm on his medications so I'm kinda stuck with him.

Since I was referred by the LGBT center mental health coordinator, he knew I was gay even though I never actually came out to him. In fact I never discussed my sexuality with him.

Even though I never bring it up, he always discusses my "gayness" as the first topic he beings up when I'm in his office.